10 Legends of Women’s International Soccer


Now that the #WorldCup 2018 is about to end, it came to my mind why we continue to support men more than women in soccer. Actually, this happens in most of the sports and I decided to look for the top 10 players that female soccer has had around the world.

Do not forget that the Women’s Soccer World Championship will take place from June 7 – July 7, 2019, so it is also important to support our teams. Enjoy the article and do not forget to always support women’s visibility and participation everywhere .


  1. Homare Sawa

Japanese 39-year-old midfielder, debuted in 1993.  She is one of the best Asian players in the world and he has been world champion and winner of the ball and gold boot in 2011. She scored a total of 83 goals during her career.

Homare Sawa



  1. Carin Jennings

A 53-year-old American, world champion and gold-ball winner in 1991, Olympic champion in 1996. She managed to enter the American Football Hall of Fame in 2000. She is currently a coach at the US Naval Academy.

Carin Jennings



  1. Hege Riise

Norwegian, 48, the best player in Norway’s history, won gold and the world championship in 1995, before that she won the European Championship in 1993.

Hege Riise



  1. Sun Wen

Considered the best footballer in China, debuted in 1990, she is currently 45 years old. China’s top scorer with 106 goals; In 2000 she won the prize for the best player of the 20th century, in addition to having obtained the gold ball and gold cup back in 1999.

Sun Wen



  1. Michelle Akers

Along with Carin Jennings, she won the world championship in 1991 and won the gold ball that same year. Together with Sun Wen, she shared the prize for the best player of the 20th century.

Michelle Akers



  1. Nadine Angerer

German 39-year-old, started his career as midfielder but realized that her true talent was in the goal, which led her to the German team. She won the world championships in 2003 and 2007 and won 4 Euro Cups in 2001, 2005, 2009 and 2013; that year she won the player of the year award.

Nadine A.



  1. Birgit Prinz

She debuted at age 16 and has been one of the best players in history in Germany. She won two world championships in 2003 and 2007 and five European Championships in 1995, 1997, 2001, 2005 and 2009. In 2003 she won the Player of the Year award, and she was 7 times player of the year in Germany.

Birgit Prinz



  1. Abby Wambach

Front American, with 183 goals she has been one of the best goal-scorers of her national team, gold medalist in 2012 and world champion in 2015. She played a total of 4 world championships in which she scored 14 goals

Abby Wambach


  1. Mia Hamm

She is considered the “Pele” of women’s soccer, played for 17 years in the US team. World champion in 1991 and 1999, Olympic medalist in 1996 and 2004, considered the best player of all times.

Mia Hamm


  1. Marta Vieira

The Ronaldinha of Brazil, achieved five consecutive times the FIFA World Player (2006 to 2010). She won gold at the 2004 and 2008 Olympic Games. She won a FIFA gold ball in 2010, 2 gold boots in 2009 and 2010, Golden Ball in the Copa Libertadores 2009. Marta is still playing at Orlando Pride in the US. She is ahead and continues to play her game, let’s hope she plays in the world cup in 2019.

Marta Vieira

If you liked this article, share it on 👉 MOOVZ with the #WorldCup